ann menebroker & paul fericano | tag team poetry

Sacramento Poetry Center History

Since 1979, the Sacramento Poetry Center has been a major force for literary artists in Northern California. Though primarily serving as the literary center for the greater Sacramento metropolitan area, SPC’s publications are recognized nationally for their quality and literary content and its annual writers’ conference has featured some of the most important poets of our time, including Pulitzer Prize winners Gary Snyder and Philip Levine, former U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Hass, and other poetic luminaries such as Galway Kinnell, Robert Bly, Robert Creely, Diane DiPrima, Carolyn Forche, Lucille Clifton, Anne Waldman, Jack Hirschman, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Dorianne Laux, Kim Addonizio, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Michael McClure, Jose Montoya, Robert Creeley, Robert Peters, and many others.

Unique among literary centers in that it is not affiliated with a university, the Sacramento Poetry Center, while maintaining close ties with the area’s universities and colleges, affords associated artists the opportunity to explore the medium unrestricted, empowering literary artists to improve their work and performance.

The Sacramento Poetry Center also sponsored Assembly Bill 113, which established the position of California Poet Laureate. Quincy Troupe was appointed by the Governor to fill the position for its first two-year term.

Please click the images above to visit the SPC web page for more detailed information…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.